| | Promotion| FAQ|
| | |

PinDIY.com

Forgot password?
 Register
View: 1949|Reply: 23
Collapse the left

[Tips Discussion] Dyeing your own Floss...

[Copy link]
Post time: 2012-3-28 08:31
| Show all posts |Read mode
Has anyone tried this? o_o I just got a bunch of plain white cotton floss on the cheap, and I'd like to try dyeing it somehow. I've heard of various at-home techniques, like using kool-aid or laundry dye, but I have no experience with anything like this. I don't need it to be archival or wash-proof, just put some color on it that won't rub into the fabric while I'm stitching.

So, do you know a good way to dye cotton floss? :o

When someone visits this page from a link you share, you will be rewarded

Post time: 2023-10-20 10:33
| Show all posts
This is a quite old thread but wanted to give my 2 cents since it seems alive still:
-There's plenty dyes nowadays that will work well on cotton, so the floss can absolutely be dyed.
-It is advisable to wash first anything you plan on dying. Some industry made yarns/floss/threads have a coat that might not react well with the dye.
-Always test first on a small batch. Heat time, type of dye and the usage of mordant can change results drastically! Taking notes is a good idea!
-Try to dye as much as you'll need for your project: hand dying will hardly end up the same in a second batch, that's the nature of hand dying stuff.
-If the result is uneven, don't lose heart and treat it as a variegated. Even if it doesn't look the best it can absolutely surprise you on a project :kiss:
Reply Support Not support

Use magic Report

Post time: 2023-12-29 12:18
| Show all posts
I have experience dyeing cotton. Plant-based fibers,  like cotton, need a different type of dye and a different mordant than animal-based fibers, like wool.
The best way is to use Procion fiber reactive dyes. You use soda ash as a mordant. Salt and urea can also be used to help the dye.