zitocleo Publish time 2011-1-17 00:57

Relatively Easy DIY framing

I've been using this method for 4 years, and the more times I do it, the easier it gets. I will include pics soon. I'll be framing the cross stitch I just started later this week, and we'll take pics as we go, but in the meantime, here are the basic instructions.

Tools:
temporary adhesive spray glue (from craft store)
1/4" plywood
electric staplegun
pushpins
openback photo frame (from craft store)

1 - Based on the size of the cross stitch, pick an open-back frame from your craft shop. (You can also custom make your own frame, but that's less easy :) )

2 - Measure the inside opening of back of the frame, and cut (or have cut at your DIY shop) a piece of 1/4" plywood to measure 1/4" smaller than the opening on the frame. This is important, as you want there to be room for the fabric to fit into the back of the frame after it's been wrapped around the plywood.

3 - Using temporary spray adhesive from your craft store, spray the entire back of your washed/ironed cross stitch.

4 - Centering carefully, spread your cross stitch out on the plywood brace. Temp spray is repositionable, so reposition as necessary til your cross stitch is smooth and straight, and there is an extra overlap on all sides to be folded back.

5 - Turn the whole thing over (place a towel on the surface you're working on if there's a danger that your cross stitch will get dirty ).

6 - Using pushpins to hold in place, stretch and pin the excess fabric to the back of the brace.

7 - (If you can get someone to help hold here, do so!) Using 1/4" staples, staple the fabric every few inches along the back, starting at the center of each side and working out. Especially make sure the corners are securely stapled. Remove pushpins as you staple.

8 - Put your now braced cross stitch into the back of the premade frame, and using 1/4" staples, staple across the gap every 4" to keep the cross stitch in your frame.