Forgot password?
 Register
View: 1746|Reply: 20
Collapse the left

[Tips Discussion] How to finish a bookmark

[Copy link]
Post time: 2013-8-15 22:20
| Show all posts |Read mode
Hi everyone, I'm currently doing my first cross stitch project and I'm not quite sure how to finish it. It's a bookmark done on aida (14 ct) and I'm worried about the fraying of the corners and about the thread being ruined with the use. I was thinking of sewing a piece of cloth to the back that goes over the edges (so I don't worry about fraying and also cover up the back while I'm on it) and for the fron I thought about using one of those sprays that protect fabric from stains, wear, etc.

But I'd love to hear what you do with your bookmarks and any tips you might have for me since I'm just a newbie :loveliness:

When someone visits this page from a link you share, you will be rewarded

Post time: 2022-2-10 05:51
| Show all posts
Following this thread
Reply Support Not support

Use magic Report

Post time: 2013-8-15 23:46
| Show all posts

How to finish a bookmark

I always use iron on  interfacing found in sewing shops for the back of the work to keep it secure.   Then attach sticky felt in a matching colour.

Comments

This sounds like a good idea, I'll have to try it sometime. Do you do anything with the front? I'm worried about the thread fraying from the friction of the book  Details Reply Post time 2013-8-16 10:01

Use magic Report

Author| Post time: 2013-8-16 10:01
| Show all posts

How to finish a bookmark

This sounds like a good idea, I'll have to try it sometime. Do you do anything with the front? I'm worried about the thread fraying from the friction of the book

Use magic Report

Post time: 2013-8-16 10:22
| Show all posts

How to finish a bookmark