| | Promotion| FAQ|
| | |

PinDIY.com

Forgot password?
 Register
View: 1410|Reply: 15
Collapse the left

[Tips Discussion] Linen from a Fabric Store; can you stitch on it?

[Copy link]
Post time: 2012-3-28 08:26
| Show all posts |Read mode
I have been wondering about this one for a while. Buying linen from a cross-stitch shop is expensive, and you never get very much. Also, there's the limitation of what colors you can get... has anyone tried buying linen (or linen-look) fabric by the yard from a fabric shop that sells it in bolts? If so, have you had any luck stitching on it? Is there a certain kind to look for, or some process to prepare the fabric to make it easier to stitch on?

Maybe this is a common practice among you expert stitchers, but I'm still a novice. :P Please let me know!

When someone visits this page from a link you share, you will be rewarded

Post time: 2020-2-8 01:10
| Show all posts
It may not be even, same number of threads per inch going up or side to side.  It depends how precise the pattern needs to be
Reply Support Not support

Use magic Report

Post time: 2022-2-10 06:55
| Show all posts
Following this thread

Use magic Report

Post time: 2023-9-6 02:00
| Show all posts
Siguiendo este hilo

Use magic Report

Post time: 2024-4-9 01:27
| Show all posts
Thanks for the info!

Use magic Report

Post time: 2023-12-23 16:28
| Show all posts
Thank you very much!

Use magic Report

Post time: 2012-3-28 11:17
| Show all posts
I think linen is linen regardless of where you buy it. Just look for a good quality linen and try a piece.

Comments

I did actually try a piece I had on hand, but the fibers making up the grid slid around and didn't hold the floss at even the lightest tension. I'm wondering if maybe I had the wrong thing, or the w  Details Reply Post time 2012-3-28 12:27

Use magic Report

Author| Post time: 2012-3-28 12:27
| Show all posts